Seasonique – My Inactive Week of Horror

I never imagined I would long for active birth control pills, but good golly, this week has been terrible. Terrible. Terrible.

I just started crying because we are out of white rice. Issue #1 of the inactive week: Constant crying and rollercoaster emotions. Issue #2: Stomach pains, nausea, and loss of appetite. Hence the rice. I can’t bring myself to eat much of anything…which of course makes me feel lousy in its own right.

Add to that the wicked cramps that ibuprofen doesn’t touch, yesterday’s eight-hour headache, and my inability to sleep, and well, yeah, I can’t stand this.

My surgery was just over three months ago, and this is only the second period I’ve had, so maybe that’s part of why the cramps are so awful. (How long should it take to heal internally?) But it’s much worse than my normal periods used to be. It’s very light, so that’s nice, but usually I have two really painful days, and then the rest of the time, I just take some pain meds, and I’m fine. This time, I’m on day five of those really painful cramps, and I just want to scream.

Oh, and the hot flashes. I have a new respect for menopausal women. I don’t know how they deal with constant hot flashes.

I’m very aware of how out of balance my hormones are this week, and if nothing else, it reaffirms my belief that the Seasonique is otherwise helping me.

Sunday night can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

